IOM in the North Pacific at a Glance

IOM established its first office in the region in Majuro in May 2009. The opening of the sub-regional Head Office in Pohnpei followed a few months later. The FSM has been a member state since December 2011 and the RMI acceded to membership on 26 November, 2013.



Migrant Resource Center


DRM Network

FSM Government
Pohnpei State Government
US Embassy
Japan Embassy
United Nations
2 4 01/16 5 3

Photo Updates: 2014 Activities Photo Update

Welcome to IOM-Micronesia

IOM is an inter-governmental organization known for its dynamic work in the field of migration. The Organization has a global presence with over 450 offices worldwide, including four offices in the north Pacific region.

The Head Office overseeing IOM’s operations across the expansive north pacific region is located in Pohnpei, the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM). IOM also has sub-offices in the FSM States of Chuuk and Yap, as well as, a sub-office in Majuro, in the Republic of the Marshall Islands. One of the ongoing functions of IOM in the region is to assist the host governments and the United States government in disaster mitigation, relief and reconstruction activities. As of March, IOM is also managing a program on behalf of the Australian Government, which aims to build the resilience of communities to natural hazards and enable them to adapt appropriately to climate change.

With the recent admission of the FSM as a member state, IOM is exploring opportunities for expanding its activities into other areas, such as combating trafficking in persons, labour migration and cultural orientation.

About FSM & RMI

The Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) and the Republic of the Marshall Islands (RMI) are two nations collectively made up of 1,800 islands (comprising 340 square miles, mostly uninhabited) spanning 2,000 miles across the northwestern Pacific Ocean, with a combined population of 155,153 (FSM - 102,600, RMI - 52,553). The two nations account for three million square miles (about 5%) of the western Pacific Ocean, an area triple the size of the South China Sea or the Mediterranean. While typhoon events do not occur annually in these island nations, when they do occur, they typically take place between November and April.

Under the Compacts of Free Association signed in 2003 between the United States government and the governments of RMI and FSM, and as amended in 2004, responsibility for disaster and reconstruction services for these independent nations was transferred from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), a component of the US Department of Homeland Security (USDHS), to the US Agency for International Development (USAID) in November 2008.